Advent Sunday: Hope

Standard

The entire process of Advent, anticipation of the coming of the Christ, is something I’m learning to absorb and celebrate daily.

In each breath. In each chaotic moment. In the crazy. In the mess of boxes and hot glue and projects and fundraising and decorating….yet, that is just the prayer:  celebrated anticipation in each day. The cry of my heart.

Tonight, we were rushed and throwing a meal together for the boys. And I was feeling pretty disheveled and anxious. Reaching for the lighter and scripture and just unnerved by being “ready to usher in Advent just the right way”. I didn’t even have on makeup and my hair was wet. Just felt a bit too chaotic. I wanted something to slow down. I wanted time to stand still somehow.

And then there is a fuss from Justus. The fidgeting from Austin. Travis and I sigh. We take deep breaths.

We open the Word.

We read the scripture once.

Then Travis said, let’s just turn all the lights out and light the candle.

Let’s read it again.

And there it was: The darkness.

Then came the flame. The Light: The Hope. The Prophecy.

The Light came into darkness. Faces illuminated in shadows of the flame.

We read again: Isaiah 60:2-3

For behold, darkness shall cover the earth,
   and thick darkness the peoples;
but the LORD will arise upon you,
   and his glory will be seen upon you.
And nations shall come to your light,
   and kings to the brightness of your rising.

Romans 15:12-13

And again Isaiah says, “The root of Jesse will come,
even he who arises to rule the Gentiles;
in him will the Gentiles hope.” 
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace
in believing, so that by the power
of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

Tomorrow, we will start reading the scripture from Ann Voskamp’s Jesse Tree Advent Family Devotional at night. I also think we are going to work on Romans 15:13 as a memory verse with Austin (and Travis and I) this week:

http://www.aholyexperience.com/2011/11/free-jesse-tree-advent-family-devotional/

I also landed on reading the Jesse Tree scripture plan in the AM & attempting some of April Knight’s Scripture Doodling.

Then I’ll be reading from Watch for the Light. I love the mashup of authors in this book..and probably whatever else I feel led to read. I have another book on order, too…

So, what’s your reading plan with family and for you?

How are you ushering in Advent?

Leave a Reply

