Joining the conversation that began at 11 o’clock

Standard

What are you reading? What are you listening to?

I want to know!

C.S. Lewis said: If you join at eleven o’clock a conversation which began at eight you will often not see the real bearing of what is said. Remarks which seem to you very ordinary will produce laughter or irritation and you will not see why—the reason, of course, being that the earlier stages of the conversation have given them a special point. In the same way sentences in a modern book which look quite ordinary may be directed at some other book; in this way you may be led to accept what you would have indignantly rejected if you knew its real significance. The only safety is to have a standard of plain, central Christianity (“mere Christianity” as Baxter called it) which puts the controversies of the moment in their proper perspective. Such a standard can be acquired only from the old books. It is a good rule, after reading a new book, never to allow yourself another new one till you have read an old one in between. If that is too much for you, you should at least read one old one to every three new ones.

As we journey into 2011, what’s your reading list?

Who is up for the challenge to mix things up?

Something old. Something new.

My list will include not only a mix of old & new; but adding some classical fiction in the mix. I’m sorry; but I’m not a modern fiction reader (most of the time). Also some theology and some topical. I’m planning to re-read almost everything I can by C.S.Lewis. I’ve also got to decide if I’m going to read some St. Thomas of Aquanis or Schaeffer or Tozer. Someone along those lines. I’ll be raiding the Miner Family Library (aka my parents house) for books. I am hoping to read a mix of Driscoll, Piper, Keller and Furtick in the next few months. With some things by Mike Breen in the mix. I also am planning to pull a few classics like the Secret Garden and some Shakespeare. I take for granted that I’m reading the Bible and digging back through my parenting curriculum from Growing Kids. Oh, and I’m planning to re-read Ruthless Trust by Brennan Manning.

I also consider blogs to be part of my reading. I don’t think I’d do justice to all the blogs I read. My two favorites have to be www.stuffchristianslike.net and www.ragamuffinsoul.com. I also must say that Jessi’s blog www.naptimediares.com is truly one of my favorites, too. I also try to keep up with our pastors and the pastors that I read or follow on twitter. So, that’s a given.

So, while we are it, let’s move on to music. 

To honor the something old, something new. I’m going with a classical station on Pandora. I’m also pulling out some more contemporary versions of my favorite hymns. One of my banner songs for the year is Kathryn Scott’s new “We Believe”. Her album also has a version of “I believe in Jesus” which I haven’t sang in years. I’m contemplating adding some vintag Mullins “Apostle’s Creed”. I also have LaCrae’s new album in my car. And as always, I will have a bit of country with a twist of Over the Rhine’s newest album.

How about you? Mixing it up with me?
How about your favorite blogs or podcasts?
How about your “must follow” people on twitter?

2 responses »

  1. I’ve read a couple of Kate Morton’s books lately – its ‘new’ fiction, but reads like a classic – I loved them both (The Forgotten Garden, The House at Riverton) – I don’t think you’d be disappointed! I read a lot and am hoping to read/reread some classics, too! In nonfiction, I’m currently reading ‘Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl’ by Lysa TerKeurst, it was recommended by a friend and so far its good, lots of good application. Looking forward to hearing other input, I’m always up for a good book suggestion 🙂

Leave a Reply

