Isaiah 43

Standard

Isaiah 43:1

But now thus says the Lord,
he who created you, O Jacob,
he who formed you, O Israel:
“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name, you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
and the flame shall not consume you.
3 For I am the Lord your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

Today, this passage seemed to climb into my heart, and rearrange some of my complexity and swirly thoughts.
In my journal, I started sketching the notes below:

Who God is: Creator. Redeemer.
Who We Are: Redeemed. Called. Beloved.
What will happen: We will face trials that feel like overflowing rivers and scorching fire.
What will be the outcome of those trials? We will not be over thrown or burned up.
Why will this be our outcome?  I am the Lord Your God.

Done. That’s it. That’s our faith. Simple. To the point.

And in case, we are missing the point- let’s get real obvious: This passage doesn’t say if we face trials. It says when we face trials; but we will not be fully overcome or fully burned up. Why? Only because he is the Lord Your God. That’s it. Not by might. Not by power. But, by MY spirit says the Lord. Zech 4:6.

Leave a Reply

