DNA of Joy: Happiness and Joy

Standard

Pastor Greg shared an incredible message at Seacoast this weekend, in a series called DNA of Joy.

To follow suit of trying to stay focused, I’m posting two things that are resonating with me from this message and a combination of something that Pastor Greg asked Pastor Stovall Weems to share with our staff this week during a staff meeting:

Happiness is based on the facts. Joy is based on the Truth.

He explored the aspects of our happiness being based on the facts that surround our lives and what is happening to us. Joy is only possible from the truth of God’s word. What we believe produces joy, what is happening to us in inconsequential for joy to resonate.

The fruit of the Spirit….the source of being filled with the Holy Spirit is what produces love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.

I can not will myself into these things. I can not offer the list of these virtues to anyone in my life without the filling of the Holy Spirit, they are the fruit of this evidence in my life. Not of my own works.


 

Leave a Reply

