Fruit of the Spirit Activity

Standard

Galatians 5:22, 23- The fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. We are using my friend Jenna’s Truth Cards each week to learn a different Bible verse with Austin. I’m going to share how we are using the Truth Cards and incorporating them into our daily routine and school and training time.

A little background: Austin is a typical 4 year old boy. So, a lot of our training time is spent practicing getting self control, following instructions, focusing on the task we are doing for more than 2 minutes, holding still, and slowing down a bit. Having fun is not something we have to work on. He is a good combination of Travis and I; but he definitely has some of my crazy hurricane-like excitement. So, when we learn a verse, we also usually learn a song, dance, or motions to it by request from Austin. I try not to make them seem too much like a cheer; but they do end up that way on occasion. So, here are some of our ideas and ways we are using the Truth Cards to learn the verse and other learning activities:

Learning with Motions: This week we made up motions for each word of the verse. I think this works well for him when it’s a verse that has a list. We did this for Isaiah 9:6, too.  Love – hands over our heart. Joy- hands in the air. Peace- peace sing. Aren’t I original. Patience- hands at our side. Kindness- Austin made this one up, he leans forward and smiles. Well, usually he then falls on the floor, too. Goodness- thumbs up. Faithfulness- marching in place. Gentleness- hands on our face. Self-control- folded hands in front of us. He likes to do some sort of crazy motion at the end for the reference and either have a reason to hit something or play air guitar or punch the air.

Video:We also googled a fruit of the spirit song/video to watch. Honestly, super cheezy. I’m not gonna post a link to that here. But, it was fun to watch with him a couple times.  He loves to look things up on the computer.

Keeping them In Sight: We keep the Truth Card on the kitchen table so that he sees it at every meal. I put it in a plastic picture frame. I really believe in the importance of teaching the Word of God to him. I also believe that using the time to focus and memorize and learn concepts is going to help him developmentally, too. So, honestly, the Truth Cards have become a major source of our training/school time and are helping me have a focus for my sort of randomly created home-pre-school.  2 Tim 3:16 All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness..(ESV).

Activity following the Theme: This week I decided to add an activity to match the verse, too. Sort of help me focus my activity/school time with him. So, obviously, there is so much to do with the fruit of the spirit. But, here is something we started impromptu this week to help with the coloring and focusing area. Austin likes to color really fast and without looking at the page. Yep. Boy! Cracks me up. But, seriously, we need to be able to color and actually look at the page.

So, I googled fruit of the spirit, found this clip art. Printed two copies. I colored one, and I let him color one. We used mine as the base. Then we cut the fruit off the one he was coloring (with his new scissors) and pasted the fruit to the matches. Again, these are things he loves to do. Cut. Paste. Match things. I have incorporated that he needs to listen to my instructions. So, I had him color each fruit the same color that I colored mine. I also asked him to match them in order and say them with me. Then we looked for the letter to each word. He likes to sound things out. So, we said “k-k-k…where is the word that starts w/ ‘K’?” I did use this activity again a few days later.

Side note: If you paste the fruit on, most of the time it can be peeled off later. So, I peeled it off & we re-pasted it in order of the fruit. And P.S. Yes, that is a crumb on my table in the photo. Thought y’all might like that.  I also found all kinds of ideas on spreading out weeks and lessons on fruit of the spirit and baking things, etc. Obviously, the fruit of the spirit is an easy topic to google search for ideas.

3 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness! I LOVE YOUR POST! I love your ideas for learning verses and activities that go along with the lessons! You are amazing and I would one day like to make you my Truthcards marketing director/spokeswoman. 🙂

    We are totally going to do the fruit verse soon and am going to use all of your actions. How cute would it be to get them to do it together? That would make a great video for their rehearsal dinner. Seriously, you’re awesome. Thank you so much!

  2. Jenna, seriously, your TruthCards have been so great at helping me formulate our activity/school time. And I love how you are always thinking about the rehearsal dinner. Don’t worry, I’ve got that covered 🙂 You just worry about the wedding!

  3. Side note: I figured out coloring by number really helps Austin, too. So not sure how Addison does coloring; but it seems to help him a little bit.

Leave a Reply

